Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Santa Saturday events set for this Saturday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Saturday, 10 December 2011 18:15

By Tina Kitt

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Wauneta’s annual Santa Saturday is almost here! During the course of the day’s events this coming Saturday, two lucky attendees will take home either a 32-inch LG television set or a Dell laptop computer, both compliments of BWTelcom. A terrific array of smaller prizes will also brings smiles to the faces of those whose names are drawn during the drawing.

On Saturday a free matinee movie at the Chateau Theatre will kick things off at 1 p.m. MT. This year’s Santa Saturday movie, “Arthur Christmas,” is sponsored by the Wauneta Women of Today.

Santa will make his appearance around 2:30 p.m. MT with help from the Wauneta Volunteer Fire Department. Be sure to bring your cameras to snap photos of Santa with the little ones. Santa will hand out holiday treats to all ages, with help in filling those sacks coming from the W.V.F.D., the Village of Wauneta and Frenchman Valley Development Corporation.

The Santa Saturday Chamber Drawings will follow Santa’s visit around 3 p.m. You must be 18 years of age to enter and you must be present to win.

Chamber businesses have come up with another great batch of drawing prizes, donated by participating businesses to add to the merriment of the holiday season.

This year’s prizes include a 32-inch LG television; Dell laptop computer; 52-week movie pass to the Chateau Theatre; numerous bundles of Chamber Bucks; Motorola two-way radios; Christmas turkeys; candle; crock pot; enamelware; and gift certificates to Susie’s Creative Stitches, Walgren’s Super Market, I Want That, Tommy’s Sports Club, Hair Chateau, Harchelroad Motors and Champa Group.

Check out the Chamber’s Santa Saturday ad on page 5 for more details.

 

Palisade’s Old Fashioned Christmas Saturday

While Santa Saturday is underway in Wauneta, Palisade will be hosting their annual “Old Fashion Christmas,” with both Santa Saturday and Palisade’s Old Fashion Christmas set for Dec. 10.

Palisade’s full afternoon of events gets rolling at noon MT/1 p.m. CT with Bingo at the Palisade Legion Hall.

At 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT Friends of the Library organization will host a free kid’s movie at the Palisade Auxiliary Hall with popcorn and hot chocolate provided by the Lion’s Club.

A visit from Santa is expected at 2:30 p.m. MT/3:30 p.m. CT at the Auxiliary Hall, with the drawing for prizes planned at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT.

From 4:30-6:30 p.m. MT/5:30-7:30 CT, area churches will host a soup supper at the Auxiliary Hall with proceeds from the freewill offering going toward area mission work. Soups on the menu include chili, chicken noodle, potato, vegetable and more. Desserts will also be served.

At 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT the action will shift outside as Palisade residents celebrate the lighting of the town Christmas tree. Judges will also announce the winners of the Christmas Carnival Shoebox Parade.