Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Seven acts place at District Speech, three headed to State Meet in Lincoln Friday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 21 March 2013 18:03

Three Wauneta-Palisade speech team members will move on to state after the district meet last Thursday. Here (left to right) Christi Christner, Tom McGraw and Cameo Rector accept their medals at the district meet. Christner will compete in serious prose, McGraw in informative and Rector in humorous prose.


By Diane Stamm

The Wauneta Breeze

 

The Wauneta-Palisade Schools hosted the District Speech meet Thursday, March 14 at the Wauneta Attendance Center.

The Wauneta-Palisade speech team placed fifth out of nine teams, including first place Hyannis, Wallace, Leyton, Hayes Center, Banner County, South Platte, Arthur County and Sioux County.

Three W-P performers will be going to the D-2 State Speech Meet in Kearney Friday. Cameo Rector, Tom McGraw and Christi Christner each placed third in their respective category and will move on to the State Meet.

Rector placed third in the humorous prose division, portraying multiple characters in “Camp Sunshine.”

McGraw was third in the informative category, speaking on The Sacred Symbol, about the symbol for the Navy SEALs, McGraw originally tied for first place but tiebreakers resulted in a third place finish.

Christner was third in serious prose with her performance titled “Dreams” about a girl in suffering after her father’s suicide. Christner finished in a tie for second, but after four tie breakers placed third. At last year’s state competition, Christner finished sixth in serious prose.

The oral interpretation of drama team suffered the biggest disappointment of the day. Tied for third, the group, Leiauna Alberts, Cameo Rector, Cassidy Rathe, Ellie Lee and Nicole Strand, fell to fourth after three tie breakers. Only the top three finalists in each category move on to State.

Also in serious prose, Cassidy Rathe placed sixth.

The duet acting team of Cody Hicks and Landon Jutten placed fifth.

Jutten also ranked fourth in the entertainment category.

Also performing, but not placing for W-P were John Chistner and Christi Christner in duet acting, Hicks and John Christner with separate performances in the extemporaneous category.

Speech coach Liz Noler said the day went well, despite some disappointments.

“This has been a really hard working group of kids,” Noler said. “It paid off for Cameo, Tom and Christi.”

Friday, the trio will all be in section one of round one in their respective categories and are scheduled to perform at 7:00 a.m. MT/8:00 a.m. CT. Round two begins at 10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CT. Rector, McGraw and C. Christner are all in section two.

Though W-P won’t have performances available for webcast, the NSAA will be streaming other performances through its website nsaahome.org.

The awards ceremony will stream live on www.netNebraska.org Friday at 3:00 p.m. MT/4:00 p.m. CT.

NET Television will be airing NSAA Speech Championships: Best of the Best Sunday, April 21 at 9:00 a.m. MT/10:00 a.m. CT. The special presentation will show the top state speech champions.